The HSRAANZ’s awards and prizes program recognises individuals who have made significant contributions to the fields of health services research and health policy in Australia and New Zealand.

To discuss sponsorship of any of the following awards please contact Sarah Green on 02 9514 4723/email

    Past Winners of HSRAANZ Awards and Prizes

  • HSRAANZ Professional Award

  • HSRAANZ Professional Award

    This Award was presented biennially from 2011 and 2015 and recognised an individual who had made an outstanding, life-time contribution to the development of health services research in Australia or New Zealand. The Award recognised the conduct of high quality health services research, translation into policy and practice, and activities to support other researchers, such as mentoring and contributing to the development of a supportive research environment.

    Previous Winners

    2015 Winner - Professor Kathy Eagar, Director of the Australian Health Services Research Institute (AHSRI), University of Wollongong.

    Read the Croakey interview with Kathy

    2013 Winner - Prof Jacqueline Cumming University of Victoria, Wellington

    2011 Winner - Prof Jane Hall, University of Technology Sydney

    Read our 2011 interview with Prof Jane Hall

    This Award has been replaced with the Distinguished Investigators Awards.


    The Purpose of the HSRAANZ Professional Award is to:

    Identify and acknowledge individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of health services research in Australia or New Zealand

    Profile the work of the individual

    Inspire others to follow the example

    Criteria for Selection—The award is be offered to an individual who has:

    Initiated a strong research agenda

    Made an ongoing contribution to the profession of health services research over many years

    Mentored other researchers

    Contributed to a supportive research environment.

  • Awards Presented at the HSRAANZ Conference

    Best PhD Student Prize

    This prize was awarded biennially, at HSRAANZ Annual General Meeting. It has been replaced with the new Health Services and Policy Research Paper of the Year Award

    Previous Winners
    Katherine Elkin
    Paul Harris

    The ERGO Best Poster and Oral Presentation Prizes

    These awards previously made at the Health Services and Policy Research Conference have been replaced by the Early Career Researchers 3 Minute Presentation Competition and the Best Abstract and Poster Prizes.

    2013 Prize Winners
    2011 Prize Winners
    2009 Prize Winners